The Sufferfest – Chrysalis review and video giveaway

I mentioned earlier this week that something was coming and hinted at a Sufferfest video with the Bleeding Eyes logo on my Instagram account. I was lucky enough to get chosen as a reviewer of the upcoming ‘Chrysalis’ triathlon brick workout video.

For those that aren’t familiar with The Sufferfest here’s a quick breakdown:

  • Pro Tour footage
  • HARD intervals
  • IWBMATTKYT (I Will Beat My Ass Today To Kick Yours Tomorrow)

So, I have a love/hate relationship with The Sufferfest. It is such an incredible workout and I am so much stronger for having used the videos in training, but as one of my friends put it, “I wish I could record my inner dialogue during the intervals.” Chrysalis is no different, only that it uses footage from DATEV Challenge Roth rather than the TdF or Giro. It puts you through multiple intervals of running and cycling.

Setup: This is best done either at a gym where the bikes and treadmills are co-located or if you’re lucky enough to have a treadmill at your house setup next to your bike. I’m in the process of moving across the country and don’t have a gym, so I used a week pass to X-Sport to get my workout in. Make sure you have water handy, leave a bottle at both setups if you can. And I suggest bringing a sweat towel, nobody appreciates swimming through the lakes of sweat that you’re going to have if you don’t wipe it up.

The Video:

You start with a warmup jog, then a warmup bike, then run, bike, run, bike, run, bike, run.

No joke, I thought it would be a hard bike followed by a hard run, but this allows you to get really good at transitioning and getting your legs used to running off the bike. In all there are four bricks, each consisting of one bike and one run. The bike legs are 8:00 and the run legs are 4:00. This video hasn’t been run through with TrainerRoad yet, so you’ll have to go off of perceived effort with this one. Don’t worry, the scales are given.

IMG_0043IMG_0044

In true Sufferlandrian form, we crush the competition. You’re going to follow a few of the pros through the run and bike course, surging to attack up a hill, which is especially cool for the run since they have you increase the incline and pace depending on where the pros are on course. And those surges and inclines are tough. Not tough enough to break you before you’re through, but enough to make really dig deep mentally. You’ll have great music to listen to while you’re destroying the competition to help you zone out of the burn.

NewImage

ATTACK!!!!!

    Thoughts:

This video is tough. And I’ve ridden the Tour of Sufferlandria and beaten the peleton up Mt. Sufferlandria while the floes of lava flowed down around me. I’ll definitely be throwing this into my bag of tools when it comes time to nail down a triathlon training plan or if I just want to put some extra hurt on my legs aside from cycling. The music is awesome, the footage pumps you up and the intervals are short and hard. If your engine doesn’t work better after doing this workout, you didn’t do it hard enough and Grunter Von Agony is going to be very upset with you.

This video is a great workout and the prices over at TheSufferfest.com are cheap compared to the training value you’ll receive from it. I highly recommend that you pick it up on February 4th when it’s released. You won’t be sorry that you did. And while you’re there, pick up their other videos, too. You’ll be glad you did. I’m a triathlete turned cyclist because of the Sufferfest and I will continue to IWBMATTKYT.

Want to get a video for free? I’ll be giving away a video code to 3 lucky people! Sign up below!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

21 thoughts on “The Sufferfest – Chrysalis review and video giveaway

  1. This sounds great! Do you know how TrainerRoad will be able to interact with this one during the run sections? If you stop peddling and you’re playing in the TR player it will pause the workout and the video… right?

    I’d love to add this one to our Sufferfest library come February!

    • I know there’s been talk of triathlon plans that involve runs, but in talking with Nate and Alex I don’t think that’s in the works currently. It sure would make for some good training, though! I’ll keep that bug in their ear!

  2. I would like to win the video too 🙂 I think it’s an interesting challenge to run this in a home environment. Maybe an iPhone doing AirPlay mirroring for the bike part on rollers/trainer and then take it with you on the run? Transition back will involve reconnecting though…

    • I’ve thought about that too. When I mentioned that I’d need trainer and dreadmill she told me to just suck it up and run outside… Nevermind that it’s -7 without the windchill in Chicago!!

      • My wife and I are doing the ToS this year too. The first few stages were brutal. Somehow recovered for the middle through HHNF and The Wretched, dreading tomorrow though – Angles & Hunted back-to-back. 2+ hrs of hell. Almost looking forward to Blender as that one is long but at least attainable.

  3. Cool review. For me it’s a good thing this beast first is released on 4th Feb, as doing it today severly would hamper Tour of Sufferlandia 🙂
    Only downside is, that I don’t have a treadmill In the basement – might be a good time to invest!

  4. Looks like an awesome video, the only bad thing IMO is that I wont be able tu use my bike/trainer since I dont have a treadmill at home so I’ll have to use the totally unrealistic gym bikes, anyway I’ll love to give it a try, I want to win it! Hehe 😀

Leave a Reply

